Frank Foster

Venture Advisor
Los Angeles, CA

Frank H. Foster joined Touchdown in May 2021 as a venture partner specializing in venture capital and education programs for family enterprises (family business & family office).

Frank currently serves as the Chairman of Hixon Properties and the Managing General Partner of the Gideon for Hixon Fund (venture capital) for the Hixon family of San Antonio, Texas.  He has served as a General Partner for three institutional venture capital funds, DFJ Frontier I &II and Allen & Buckeridge. Previously, Frank was the CEO and Executive Chairman for Prolacta Bioscience and the COO of Virtual Music (Sold to Namco).  Currently, he is a director of Hixon Properties, Skincential Sciences, Shotzoom, Boka Sciences, GlycosBio Food Science, Good Dye Young, Onsert Media, and Girl-Science, as well as a special advisor to the board of Prolacta Biosciences. In addition, Frank serves as the Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Cancer Foundation of Santa Barbara and the Pacer Foundation.

Recently, Frank founded the Legacy Center for Next Generation Leaders at Pepperdine Graziadio Business School, an academic institution and program dedicated to the development of next-gen talent in Family Enterprises.  The program will offer an accredited Masters of Science in Family Enterprise and a curriculum that includes Personal Development, Fundamental Business Skills, and experiential learning in an operating venture capital environment.

Frank received his MBA from Harvard Business School and a BA cum laude from Harvard University. He has taught classes in entrepreneurship and family business at Stanford GSB, UCSB, Cal Poly, and Portland State University.


Favorite Team

San Antonio Spurs

Favorite Athlete

The Admiral, David Robinson

Favorite Moment

The chance to watch his favorite teams live in each of the 4 major professional sports win the actual championship games. Basketball: San Antonio (Game 5, 2014), Hockey: Boston Bruins (Game 4, 1970), Baseball: Boston Red Sox (Game 5, 2018) Football NE Patriots (Superbowl 2017)